Wisdom Wednesday: Facebook Customized Posts

Let me start by saying–if you do not have a Facebook account, you will probably not find this post useful.

However, if you do, this may interest you.

Did you know you can choose who you share information with on Facebook?

I love that Facebook has so many customizations now on the the newsfeed / timeline layout. Here’s a tutorial on how to customize your readership/audience–which I use all the time to communicate with close friends, family or you can even post to yourself.

You have to be on a desktop to do this.

This is especially useful if you only want to share certain things with certain people and not everyone. Or if you know someone dislikes certain types of statuses, you can exclude them in your post. Or if someone only posts rude comments you can omit them from seeing your posts.

**Obviously Facebook is a public forum, so we should never think that what we post is private. However I do feel that there is a certain internet etiquette that we should consider. For example, if your friend posts everyday about how they’re tired of hearing about the election, you could omit them from your daily political posts. Otherwise, you may find them to no longer be on your friends list. I realize this is a touchy subject, but typically most of the people on my friends list are actual friends. So I normally try to apply the same etiquette on Facebook that I would in person.

To create custom groups, you can go here for instructions from Facebook: Customize Friend’s List.

Then to post to one specific list or to omit a list from your post, follow these steps:

What are some Internet / Facebook etiquette points that you feel should be followed?
8 thoughts on “Wisdom Wednesday: Facebook Customized Posts

  1. The customized posts are theoretically a good idea, but it seems kind of cumbersome to put my friends into categories, so everybody gets to see everything I post (unless they’ve blocked me LOL). Actually Google+ (I know you don’t like it, but it has some good points) is a lot more user-friendly in putting people into circles, like friends, family, acquaintances, etc., and I actually use that feature when posting there.

    Regarding etiquette, I wish that people would learn to respectfully disagree instead of relying on personal attacks to get their point across, and cut down on using four letter words. I also think it would be nice if illiterate people didn’t post statuses and comments because it makes my head hurt trying to figure out what they’re trying to say.

I value your comment. Therefore I respond to everyone who takes the time to leave a note.

