Tasty Tuesday: Marshmallow Delight

A few weeks ago one of my bosses (I have 4) was telling me about this “Marshmallow Delight” from Publix.

See picture below.

20121023-225651.jpg

I couldn’t stop thinking about it.

So I went and bought two containers of it. I shared some with my mom, and then the 2nd container I shared with coworkers. But it was gone in 2 days.

Then I decided to make it on my own.

I looked up some recipes, and there are so many out there, I just decided to wing it. If you want to google it, you’ll find it under a variety of names, but the most common and familiar name to me is Ambrosia.

If you want to make some yourself, I will share the ingredients I used, and really it’s up to you what types of fruits you like and how fresh you prefer them.

I started mine by making whipped cream. Ever since first trying fresh whipped cream (I think at Cheesecake factory) I can not go back to the whipped topping in a bowl. I will eat it, if that’s what is served, but it’s not my preference.

I took a quart of heavy whipping cream and added a 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. Then used my hand mixer with whisk attachment to beat the cream into stiff peaks. You have to be careful not to whip too far, or then you have sweet butter!

I did not measure the exact ingredients, just eye balled it.

1 8oz container of sour cream
1 can of mandarin oranges (drained)
1 can of crushed pineapple (drained)
1 jar of maraschino cherries (drained)
1/2 bag of coconut
small bag of crushed pecans
1/2 bag of small marshmallows

Incorporate all ingredients and let sit in fridge for about 30 minutes (if you can make yourself wait). The marshmallows’ outer skin dissolves and then when you take a bite, they melt into your mouth.

This is a sweet combo, but you could tone down the calories by using fat free whipped topping (the premade stuff) and making sure your ingredients are all fresh–not canned. I also think I put too much coconut in, as it was extra chewy. So you could use less, or none at all.

When I told my roommate, Brandi, about the ingredients I used she kept asking if I could leave those on the side, and I explained that if I left all the ingredients out we were going to just have a bowl of whipped cream! Haha, so obviously this recipe isn’t for everyone, but I know there are people out there who like it because of all the recipes online and different types of ingredients used.

I’ve seen and tasted recipes with a variety of other ingredients including: bananas, grapes, apples, cottage cheese, pistachio pudding (Holly), and raisins.

Here’s a pic of my version.

20121023-225722.jpg

Is Ambrosia yummy or gross?

4 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Marshmallow Delight

  1. My Grandma made Ambrosia all the time! I personally do not like it but everyone else in my fam. loved it & it was always a hit when she took it places.

  2. I DO NOT like it or the name…haha you know how we are about words! It’s basically all things I do not like mixed up into one thing. I remember mom making similar stuff and I just can’t get into it. Glad you found something to make that you enjoy though. 🙂

I value your comment. Therefore I respond to everyone who takes the time to leave a note.

