Tasty Tuesday: Chess Pie Recipe Review

**Please forgive my bad grammar. I used a lot of my vernacular in this post**

In a previous blog, I gave some thankful shout outs to my friends and family. I said to my friend Jeff that I was going to make his favorite pie, and then later share the recipe. Well technically I should have shared the recipe last Tuesday, but I didn’t. So tonight I will share this “southern classic.”

Here is the blog in which I got all mushy and cried my eyes out while making the pie I’m talking about: Mushy Cry-ey Blog.

And here is the recipe I followed–but don’t go to the page yet:  Chess Pie Recipe.

I should have read one of the 82 feedback / comments before I dove in. But like most things that I do, I just dive in and ask questions later. Someone said this trait is called “Ask Forgiveness, Not Permission.”

An-tee-ways….

First off, I’m southern, and was raised in a family of amazing southern cooks. My grandmother could Iron Chef battle Paula Deen when it comes to southern cooking. But in my 34 years of being alive in the south (Florida country) I had never heard of this “southern tradition.” Hence the quotation marks. If I were saying it out loud, I’d be using air quotes. Sorry Nancy…she hates quotes, and other poor language grammar. Which I believe this particular blog is full of. See, more ask forgiveness not permission…

Back to the Chess Pie.

So I went to an internet recipe and after some cooking time tweaks, it turned out the way a Chess Pie is supposed to be (according to my friend Jeff). The Chess Pie was sweeter than the sweetest food or drink you have ever tasted. Yet full of flavor and pure deliciousness! It was extremely rich and decadent. If this were on the menu of a high class, expensive restaurant, they’d sell it for $8 a slice!

The main issue with the online recipe, was that the cooking time was completely wrong-o!!

I have only made it once, but from my general experience with cooking, I could tell that it wasn’t right when I checked it after the advised time.

The recipe said to leave the pie in the oven for 10 minutes on 425 degrees and then turn it down to 300 degrees for 40 minutes.

But after that time frame, it was still liquid-ey, and it’s supposed to be firm.

So I put it back in the oven after I started reading the reviews on the cook time. I proceeded to cook it for 20 more minutes but it was still not done. Then I turned it up to 350, cooked it for 15 more minutes, turned off the oven and left it in overnight to continue cooking as the oven cooled.

If I were going to make this again, I would probably cook it at 425 for 15 minutes, turn it down to 350 and leave it in for another 45 minutes then check it.

For the pie crust, I used a store brand of frozen pie crust [from Publix] which was ridiculously good!

If you missed it, here’s the recipe’s ingredients, but I suggest following my cook time. Chess Pie Recipe

Have you tried Chess Pie before? How would you describe Chess Pie to someone who has never tasted it?

6 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Chess Pie Recipe Review

I value your comment. Therefore I respond to everyone who takes the time to leave a note.

