Throwback Thursday: Difficult Moments

The purpose of my blog is to share pieces of me and life from my perspective.

Being raised in a Christian home and deciding to follow Christ myself was not always easy.

I had my rebellious moments and still do.

But as a believer, one commitment I made was to always give honor where it is due.

The throwback part of today’s story is about August 5, 2009. My life changed forever.

If you don’t know me personally, then you should understand why. Here is a link to what happened that day. I worked for the company in which this article is about.

Taylor Bean & Whitaker Closes

If you google, or search on Ocala.com you will find hundreds of articles about why the company closed.

Now, I’m not here to tell a sob story. But my purpose is to tell you why I’m blessed, happy and hopeful about today and my future.

After I lost my job, I was unemployed for over a year. I can’t explain why. I applied at jobs around the country. I went to interviews and I went back to college.

I received a lot of emotional support and even financial support from friends, family and my church. It was a horrible experience. Job loss is tragic. As a community, we all tried to come together and help each other have hope and faith.

Long story short, I lost my car to repossession. I even struggled to keep my phone turned on–which was essential to obtaining interviews for jobs.

Fast forward 3 years later and I have a job. I was still without a car, but I got rides from faithful, loyal and devoted friends, family and fellow church members.

I even swallowed my pride and rode the city bus 3 times. I was okay with it. People were nice. The bus was icey cool and it was $1.50 for a trip home. Most of the time when people would see me walking to the bus stop they would stop me and insist on giving me a ride. One of my customers would not take no for an answer and even though I was a little uneasy I accepted the offer. (Currently that former customer is serving a pretty long prison sentence for something to do with drugs–so you see why I was a little uneasy).

Today, 10/4/2012, things changed for me.

I am now the proud owner of a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee, Limited.

So this is where I give honor where honor is due.

To my God & Savior: I know throughout it all He took care of me. Even when I couldn’t comprehend the pain & frustration. He held my hand and kept me from losing my mind.

To my dear friend Jeff, who gave me a job. Words can’t convey my gratitude. So I’m making you a pie, right now, as I write this. “Chess Pie.” (I’ll share pics and the recipe on Tasty Tuesday.) Oh yeah, and thanks for hooking me up with a car. And an iPad. And basically if it wasn’t for you, I may be living in a ditch somewhere.

To my amazing family. Mom, Dad, Josie: Your support was unwavering and I know that you prayed for me so much.

Brandi (and sometimes Joe)–you drove me around. What can I say besides thank you? I honestly don’t know. And Brandi, you can finally start sleeping in when you don’t have work or school!!

To my financial supporters, I don’t want to say your names, but you know who you are. You blessed me with gifts to help me with bills and to buy groceries, gas, and gave me entertainment like dinner and movies.

To my friends. Oh my. Where do I start. Helen. Helen. Helen. You have helped me so much and have NEVER asked for anything in return. You have given me rides to church and home. You have gone out of your way COUNTLESS times. You filled a huge void when my sister & BFF’s moved. I honestly don’t know what I would do without you. You deal with me when I’m crazy fun and crazy pissed off. I love you!

My BFF’s who moved. Tash, John, Holly, Mare. I miss you like crazy and even though you aren’t here, every time I see you or talk to you it feels like we never skipped a beat.

And to the rest of my friends, family and pastors who have prayed for me, given me rides (especially Shaion & Sarah), helped me stay positive, believed in me, given encouraging words, listened to me vent, etc, THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART AND LUNGS AND MY BEING.

I know I can’t name every single person who has ever done a kind thing for me, but please know I appreciate you.

I love you all and I know that this is just the beginning of a new season for me.

And if you are not in your new season yet or you’re feeling discouraged, please know this. Yesterday I did not have a car. I had to depend on others if I needed a ride for groceries, personal items, CRAFT SUPPLIES, etc. The difference in me not having a car and now having a car, was ONE day. Things can change in ONE day. Keep holding on. Keep believing. And NEVER give up. This is just the beginning!

This is what I looked like after bawling my eyes out writing this….

20121004-225502.jpg

25 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Difficult Moments

  1. Awwwweeeee An-G! We all love you so much and are so happy for you and your new Jeep! I am excited to come visit and get picked up from the airport in your new ride! You have been a faithful and loyal friend to many. You have also been an amazing sister, daughter, mother(ish) figure, employee and church member++++ as well. You deserve wonderful fantastic things! I am hoping this is the 1st of many more desires of your heart to come!

  2. So happy for you Angie! You are such a wonderful person and I pray God will continue to bless. You are an inspiration to others and I thank up you for sharing this.

  3. Angie, I had no idea you struggled so much after TB&W closed. I am so sorry you had to go thru all of that. BUT after it is all said and done, it does sound like God brought you through it and showed you who loves you and gave you true friendships. I am blessed by you and your blog! So happy for you that you have a CAR again!! ❤

  4. Now I can read it without balling my eyes out 🙂 Great story and great encouragement on how things can change for the worse, and then for the better, in just one day!

    • Nancy,

      Did not mean to make you bawl and/or ball. LOL

      I know you guys have had some challenges, but if nothing else, it makes us more grateful when we push through to the other side.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!
      Ang

  5. What an awesome inspiration you are! It’s always hard to see the people you love hurting…and living so far apart makes me feels helpless at times. I’m so glad things are looking up 🙂 You are one of the most amazing women I know and I hate that times were tuff. Only you could make it look easy… You never give up and always encourage others when we should be encouraging you. Your smile, jokes and just plain silliness make this world a better place and I’m so fortunate to have you in my life. I love you from the bottom of my heart and I’m so glad your new season has arrived 🙂 XOXO Tash

  6. You are amazing Angie! Congratulations on the new car! I’m so happy for you! God is amazing and so is your strength and faith in God. You inspire me so much! I love you!

  7. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday: Chess Pie Recipe Review | Dotta and Beam Beam

I value your comment. Therefore I respond to everyone who takes the time to leave a note.

