Wisdom Wednesday: Safety 1st

My sister and I were discussing how we try to be safe by being aware of our surroundings. That probably has a lot to do with how we were raised. In particular, how my mother raised us.

My mom had some really bad things happen to her growing up, so it was her goal to protect us from having the same issues.

By doing so she instilled a little fear in us. My sister has an unusual fear of alligators. I think the fear I struggled with most was being unsure of myself and being easily intimidated. By the way, I think I’ve overcome in those areas, but I still have to work on it from time to time. People that know me personally probably don’t even know that because I’ve worked a lot.

But one of the good things about fear is that you pay more attention at certain times than maybe other people would. I’m super sensitive to what is going on around me. My sister said she is the same way. We feel like we think of things that other people don’t.

When it comes to planning something like a trip I will think of what could happen and am probably way over prepared. If I’m only gone for a couple days, I’ll take enough underwear for a week. Or if I’m sharing a room with someone I bring ear plugs for them because I snore.

My sister and I discussed last week some of the advice we’ve heard for being prepared. She mentioned that the Marine Corps tell wives who are at home while their husband is deployed, not to advertise that their husband is gone with bumper stickers or other outward signs. A would be criminal usually scopes out their prey and looks for signs of vulnerability.

If you think about it, what do you advertise to a criminal? Women especially need to be mindful. Is your car “girl-ified?” A single girl may have signs that she is single on her car and not even realize it. If you have something on your car, would you have it still if you shared the car with your boyfriend or husband?

Another good tip: Don’t advertise when you’re not home. On Facebook or other social sites–or even in person, it may be tempting to share where you’re going or who your with, but use caution and wisdom. A good friend of mine was burglarized when he went on a trip out of state. The biggest issue was that his friends and family knew he was out of town. Coincidence that it happened when he was gone? I’m not pointing the finger at anyone. I don’t know if they ever found out who it was but use wisdom when you share about being away from home.

Do you have any rules you follow to ensure personal safety? Please share in the comments section because you may think of something that others haven’t thought about.

Thanks again for reading,

Angie

8 thoughts on “Wisdom Wednesday: Safety 1st

  1. Jeff has taught Abbey to be very aware of her surroundings, as well, which makes me feel good since she is so far away. She always notices things that I don’t always see, so it is good to train yourself, and I think all of these tips are smart. We can’t live in fear, but we can’t be ignorant either.

    • I agree. There’s a line. Some people are too fearful and it takes away from the joy of living life. But ignorance is definitely not bliss when it comes to your own personal safety.

      Thanks for reading and for your interaction Ruthann! šŸ™‚

  2. My mother has always taught us to always be aware of our surroundings growing up as well. I remember when we were young my grandmother would sing a song to us before we would cross the street: “stop, look, think…before you cross the street. You use your eyes, you use your ears and then you use your feet.” I know it sounds so childish but it has stayed with me all of my life and I practice it in every area. It’s taught me to be aware of where I am, whose around me, to listen for danger and always have a plan!!

I value your comment. Therefore I respond to everyone who takes the time to leave a note.

