Tasty Tuesday: Sweet Tea for my Sweeties!

Tasty Tuesday: Sweet Tea for my Sweeties!

One of my favorite beverages is Iced Sweet Tea. I was raised on it and anytime I drink it, I am reminded of fond memories of family gatherings and special occasions. I enjoy the sweet tea at certain restaurants like Sonny’s Barbeque or from Publix Supermarkets. I even like the way McDonald’s makes theirs.

My only bad experience with sweet tea was when I tried Lavender Sweet Tea at a Lavender festival! It tasted like I was drinking dish soap! And yes–my mother washed my mouth out with soap before, so I know what I’m talking about here!

Over the years of trying different recipes I have concocted my own rendition and I feel like it’s pretty close to perfection! Anyone who has ever tried my sweet tea gives positive feedback, so I decided to share my method. BTW—this is a super easy way to achieve delicious results.

Here are my tools and ingredients:

The star of the show—besides the main ingredient, LIPTON tea bags—is this awesome 8 cup glass bowl with a pouring spout. It makes my tea making method so easy. I got it at Walmart for about $8.

Southern Style Iced Sweet Tea

Ingredients

Lipton Tea bags (8 single size or 4 family size)
1½ cups white sugar (any brand works and even brown sugar is a tasty substitute)
4 cups water
Ice cubes and additional water

Instructions

Please note: In most cases I’m not brand loyal but when it comes to tea, I swear by Lipton! This recipe will work for other brands, but it won’t be the same!

Fill glass container with 4 cups of water and add tea bags to water. Microwave for 3 minutes and allow tea bags to steep. The longer the better. I usually can’t wait very long, so 5-10 minutes is fine, but no longer than 1 hour. Add sugar and stir gently to dissolve sugar, but avoid breaking the tea bags. Pour tea into a 1 gallon pitcher leaving bags in the glass container. Optional step: add about 1 more cup of water to the tea bags, swirl and add to tea pitcher. This will rinse out any additional tea; I like all the flavor I can get!

Add a lot of ice. I eyeball this step, but fill pitcher approximately 1/2 full with ice. Add cold water to make 1 gallon and stir.

The tea will be ice cold at this point, but you may add additional ice to your glass.

Now you can pour yourself a glass of cold and refreshing Southern Style Sweet Iced Tea!

Stay Sweet!
Angie

5 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Sweet Tea for my Sweeties!

  1. I agree with you about Lipton being the only brand to even consider… and I can top the lavender tea thing… I went to a vegan bakery with a friend one time and thought it would be fun to try something called chocolate lavender cupcakes… I was wrong about it being fun… dish soap indeed. What was I thinking to try such a horrid thing… and what were they thinking to make such a horrid thing? I’m forever scarred now! What kind of immoral wretch would do such a THAT to perfectly good chocolate? Never liked lavender anyway…

    My recipe is similar to yours (perhaps everyone from Weirsdale went through the same iced tea training course), but I use the portable induction cooker instead of the e microwave, and 2 cups of sugar… I think tea should be so sweet that it melts your teeth! Don’t ever try any automatic tea maker either… tea from them tastes like plastic and the one I returned wasn’t even dishwasher safe!

    Do you know there is a recipe for sweet tea pie? I kid you not…. Google it, make it, and I’ll get in the car and set the GPS for Angie’s place! 🙂

    • That is hilarious Bobby!

      I enjoy using lavender vanilla soap (in the shower) but to eat in a cupcake would definitely be an acquired taste!

      I wanna try sweat tea pie, so when I decide to make it I will let you know!!

I value your comment. Therefore I respond to everyone who takes the time to leave a note.

