Super Craft Saturday: Handmade Wreaths

I have never been a fan of those Christmas wreaths. You know the green circles with a few ornaments or fake snow?

But last year I discovered a new trend that was so eye catching I had to learn about it. I researched, found different styles and searched for insider tips. I won’t say I’m an expert, but I have learned the methods of how to make deco mesh wreaths and I like it!

Deco Polymesh is a great sturdy material and is ideal for use in outdoor decorations. The mesh material is non-flammable and holds up well in different weather conditions. However, I don’t suggest you leave a deco mesh wreath out in a snowstorm or hurricane!

Here’s an example I made using deco mesh for this fall.

Today I’m also sharing a special project for my friend’s mom. My friend Amy asked me to design a wreath for her mom’s birthday. The theme is country and I was told she loves the combo of blue and red together.


I decided to use burlap as the base for this rustic and homey door decoration.

Here is the wreath:

I constructed each piece of the sign starting with this “R” for their last name. It started as a plain wood base from my local craft store. I spray painted it red, 2 coats, then after it dried, put some painter’s tape on and sprayed the white stripes. I did not measure for this, just eyeballed it. Then once completely dry, I removed the tape and sanded it down using a sanding sponge. I sanded the edges really well and lightly sanded the rest.

For the wooden stars, I painted  two coats of a light brown craft paint on both sides and the edges of the stars. Once dry, I painted the letters to spell out H O M E, then sanded the edges.

For the base of the sign, I painted a sign board that was plain wood using a couple coats of white and then a coat of navy blue. After dry, I also sanded this down to create the weathered look.

I attached the R first using wood glue and then the rest of the letters for “H O M E” using hot glue.

I made a little swag of Americana/country themed material and attached it first, then added the sign. Once these elements were attached, I felt there was still too much blank space, so I made some rolled flowers out of material I had leftover from the swag and some white burlap I had found in the scrap bin at the craft store.

Not only do I enjoy the work of making crafts, but I’m really looking forward to seeing my friend and her mom’s reactions.

This quote perfectly describes what I do:

“Creativity is just connecting things. When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty because they didn’t really do it, they just saw something. It seemed obvious to them after a while. That’s because they were able to connect experiences they’ve had and synthesize new things.” Steve Jobs

Happy Crafting!

Angie

6 thoughts on “Super Craft Saturday: Handmade Wreaths

I value your comment. Therefore I respond to everyone who takes the time to leave a note.

