Throwback Thursday: Sounds

As long as I can remember, I have been sensitive to sound.

Many times I hear things that others can’t.

For example, if I’m in a quiet room, I can hear the tick-tock of a clock or a watch. And it bugs me.

My mother tells a story that, when I was a baby, I would start screaming for no apparent reason. Shortly after, the roar of a motorcycle speeding past would explain why I was so upset. Since my hearing was so sensitive, even then, the loud noise hurt my ears.

One early spring morning in 2010, a bright red cardinal tweeted so loudly that I could not sleep. Not the Twitter kind of tweeting, but the actual vocal expression a bird makes, as loud as birdly possible.

The problem?

I live in an upstairs apartment and the tree he decided to perch in is directly outside my bedroom window. He sat in that tree for about a week and became my alarm clock.

Here’s a pic of that bright red cardinal.

Now, to get sleep and escape the tweets of birds, and all the racket of city living, I use a loud table fan to create white noise. While this produces a peaceful silence, I sometimes miss one of the more important sounds: my alarm clock.

Stay tuned for a future blog in which I will stress the importance of being on time to work. {This was a joke.}

Thank you for taking the time to read about my life!

~Angie

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Sounds

I value your comment. Therefore I respond to everyone who takes the time to leave a note.

